Forum Home Forum Home > General Arcade Chat > M.A.M.E
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Pi2Scart - Thread
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Pi2Scart - Thread

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
Beaps View Drop Down
Kill Screen
Kill Screen
Avatar
Tha Xbox Man

Joined: 05 August 2010
Location: Essex
Status: Offline
Points: 7852
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Beaps Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Pi2Scart - Thread
    Posted: 25 March 2017 at 6:13pm
Thought I would start a thread regarding all things Pi2Scart.

I've been tinkering with it today and I have to say I'm very impressed. I'm running Retropie 4.2 so all the emulators are basically set up for you, you just need to tweak em a bit.

I do have one issue though, the screen centre is a little off to the left but hey.

Amstrad


Zx Spectrum


C64


Daphne


Edited by Beaps - 25 March 2017 at 6:24pm
You need a CoinOps 8 Xbox Console or Uber Wii Console , ready to go, drop me a PM.
(.Y.)
Back to Top
shaffowaffo View Drop Down
Bonus Stage
Bonus Stage
Avatar

Joined: 09 February 2016
Location: North East UK
Status: Offline
Points: 337
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shaffowaffo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 March 2017 at 8:47pm
Awesome !

Picture looks great, be good to see of anyone manages to get it working properly on a PVM.  Works great on my Trinitron TV but was shakey as hell on the PVM, no dout a config.txt timing issue or something.

Love the Robocop image ! that loading image brings back so many memories :]
wanted : Golden Axe Original
wanted : Winning unclaimed euro millions lottery ticket :]
Back to Top
Beaps View Drop Down
Kill Screen
Kill Screen
Avatar
Tha Xbox Man

Joined: 05 August 2010
Location: Essex
Status: Offline
Points: 7852
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Beaps Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 March 2017 at 9:05pm
I was hoping you would chip in as I am using your config, thanks man.

I am trying to make a gpio extender so I can move the pi2scart to outside my pi case, but I get a rolling image.
You need a CoinOps 8 Xbox Console or Uber Wii Console , ready to go, drop me a PM.
(.Y.)
Back to Top
shaffowaffo View Drop Down
Bonus Stage
Bonus Stage
Avatar

Joined: 09 February 2016
Location: North East UK
Status: Offline
Points: 337
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shaffowaffo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 March 2017 at 9:16pm
Sounds like a good idea, I had to remove my case entirely as once the pi2scart is on it, the case is unusable, damned shame...only just bought it.

I am not a wiring person to be honest, so wouldn't have a clue how to help you :]  Would be good if you do manage to crack it.  Maybe it should have been designed to be an adapter rather than a daughter board if that makes sense.  Cable goes into GPIO (which allows us to have a proper case on) and then it simply goes to the main pi2scart box and finally the scart cable.

Anyhows, best of luck and let us know how you get on dude.  Am holding fire on playing with mine for the time being.  I did buy two with the idea of one being a Vert SCHMUP setup and the other a Fighter setup, but a imminent car purchase is going to consume me.  Lexus...vroooom vroooom...which reminds me...I really need to get VROOM working on the st emulator, not quite sure whats going on with it, but when I tried running the st emulator, none of the games worked...darn it...

enjoy your w.e mate :]


wanted : Golden Axe Original
wanted : Winning unclaimed euro millions lottery ticket :]
Back to Top
mozie View Drop Down
High Score
High Score
Avatar

Joined: 01 September 2012
Location: Ireland
Status: Offline
Points: 763
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mozie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 March 2017 at 10:53am
I have one of these incoming, shame to hear about the pvm though as thats what I was planning on running it on.. Someone will figure it out I guess!!
Back to Top
shaffowaffo View Drop Down
Bonus Stage
Bonus Stage
Avatar

Joined: 09 February 2016
Location: North East UK
Status: Offline
Points: 337
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shaffowaffo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 March 2017 at 2:10pm
It might just be a setup/cable issue my side, try yours and let us know how you get on.

Best of luck and if you crack it, let us all know your secret :]


wanted : Golden Axe Original
wanted : Winning unclaimed euro millions lottery ticket :]
Back to Top
Brettster View Drop Down
Patreon
Patreon
Avatar

Joined: 02 February 2015
Location: Leeds
Status: Offline
Points: 1985
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Brettster Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 March 2017 at 3:32pm
What's the cable you are using with your PVM? is it the one with the built in sync stripper? if so this needs power for it to work. or it could just be a sync wire swap!

Looking for a Daytona, Sega Rally cab
Back to Top
shaffowaffo View Drop Down
Bonus Stage
Bonus Stage
Avatar

Joined: 09 February 2016
Location: North East UK
Status: Offline
Points: 337
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shaffowaffo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 March 2017 at 7:16pm
Good point...Just had a look at the retrogaming cables website, I cant remember which of the two it is...I have my sync as two inputs with a bnc 2 to 1 input adapter on there.  Maybe I have added one of the audio brakouts to the sync perhaps ?

I will take a look Wednesday and post a picture. I have this feeling I have been a numpty and wired it up incorrectly...post results Wednesday.
wanted : Golden Axe Original
wanted : Winning unclaimed euro millions lottery ticket :]
Back to Top
zoopster View Drop Down
Bonus Stage
Bonus Stage


Joined: 22 September 2015
Location: Oxfordshire
Status: Offline
Points: 393
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zoopster Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 March 2017 at 10:13pm
Anybody using Lakka with Pi2SCART?
Back to Top
Beaps View Drop Down
Kill Screen
Kill Screen
Avatar
Tha Xbox Man

Joined: 05 August 2010
Location: Essex
Status: Offline
Points: 7852
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Beaps Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 March 2017 at 11:17pm
Lakka Hummmmmm what's that?
You need a CoinOps 8 Xbox Console or Uber Wii Console , ready to go, drop me a PM.
(.Y.)
Back to Top
zoopster View Drop Down
Bonus Stage
Bonus Stage


Joined: 22 September 2015
Location: Oxfordshire
Status: Offline
Points: 393
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zoopster Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 March 2017 at 11:22am
It's an open source "games console" basically packaged version of RetroArch.

http://www.lakka.tv/ 

Basically an alternative to Recalbox. 
Back to Top
zoopster View Drop Down
Bonus Stage
Bonus Stage


Joined: 22 September 2015
Location: Oxfordshire
Status: Offline
Points: 393
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zoopster Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 March 2017 at 11:26pm
I got Lakka up and running this evening with the Pi2SCART. Really impressed with the output on the BVM. Has anybody had much luck getting the Spectrum (Fuse) or Commodore 64 emulators up and running? Is a keyboard required to get the games working? 
Back to Top
zoopster View Drop Down
Bonus Stage
Bonus Stage


Joined: 22 September 2015
Location: Oxfordshire
Status: Offline
Points: 393
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zoopster Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 March 2017 at 9:38pm
Anybody had a close look at the RGB-PI "OS": https://github.com/mortaca/RGB-Pi/blob/master/changelog.md

I tried it with the PI2SCART and the image displayed but the colours were messed up. 
Back to Top
Beaps View Drop Down
Kill Screen
Kill Screen
Avatar
Tha Xbox Man

Joined: 05 August 2010
Location: Essex
Status: Offline
Points: 7852
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Beaps Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 March 2017 at 9:41pm
Standard pi2jamma settings

You need a CoinOps 8 Xbox Console or Uber Wii Console , ready to go, drop me a PM.
(.Y.)
Back to Top
zoopster View Drop Down
Bonus Stage
Bonus Stage


Joined: 22 September 2015
Location: Oxfordshire
Status: Offline
Points: 393
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zoopster Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 March 2017 at 10:19pm
Hi Beaps

Looks good. Are you using this: http://strike-devices.net/index.php/arcade/pi2jamma/ and your Pi2SCART? 

John 
Back to Top
Beaps View Drop Down
Kill Screen
Kill Screen
Avatar
Tha Xbox Man

Joined: 05 August 2010
Location: Essex
Status: Offline
Points: 7852
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Beaps Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 March 2017 at 10:35pm
No mate I'm using the arcade forge one

http://arcadeforge.net/PiJamma/PI2SCART::264.html
You need a CoinOps 8 Xbox Console or Uber Wii Console , ready to go, drop me a PM.
(.Y.)
Back to Top
Beaps View Drop Down
Kill Screen
Kill Screen
Avatar
Tha Xbox Man

Joined: 05 August 2010
Location: Essex
Status: Offline
Points: 7852
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Beaps Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 April 2017 at 7:37pm
Been chatting on FB group about running Retropie emulators at there native reseolution and one clever chap has come up with build that all you need to do is add roms. I have to say wow I think this is absolutely amazing



You need a CoinOps 8 Xbox Console or Uber Wii Console , ready to go, drop me a PM.
(.Y.)
Back to Top
TheGecko View Drop Down
Patreon
Patreon
Avatar

Joined: 22 February 2012
Location: North Wales
Status: Offline
Points: 267
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TheGecko Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 April 2017 at 8:12pm
Yeah, I've been running the same scripts this week as well - the console emulators are now spot on. Just need to dig out my full fat 20 inch BVM, and it'll look spot on. :) (Need to tweak the geometry on this 14 inch first, though!)






Edited by TheGecko - 20 April 2017 at 8:13pm
Looking for broken/repairable/untested PCB's : PM me!
Back to Top
Eddhorse View Drop Down
High Score
High Score
Avatar

Joined: 18 March 2014
Location: Dublin
Status: Offline
Points: 589
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Eddhorse Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 April 2017 at 8:17pm
Is this the jamma one or the scart one from Arcade Forge / Strike.
Back to Top
TheGecko View Drop Down
Patreon
Patreon
Avatar

Joined: 22 February 2012
Location: North Wales
Status: Offline
Points: 267
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TheGecko Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 April 2017 at 8:18pm
Originally posted by Eddhorse Eddhorse wrote:

Is this the jamma one or the scart one from Arcade Forge / Strike.

PiScart - works well with the Sony monitors, with a scart to bnc cable.
Looking for broken/repairable/untested PCB's : PM me!
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down